BCCI announces squad for Women’s T20 Challenge 2022

BCCI announces squad for Women's T20 Challenge 2022
BCCI announces squad for Women's T20 Challenge 2022

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced the complete squads for the upcoming Women’s T20 Challenge 2022. The three teams, namely – Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity – will compete in the T20 event, which is scheduled to be played from May 23-28 at Pune’s MCA stadium.

  • BCCI has announced the squad for the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022.
  • The three-team competition will be played from May 23 to May 28 in Pune.

Explosive batter Harmanpreet Kaur and top-quality opener Smriti Mandhana will continue captaining the Supernovas and Trailblazers, respectively. Velocity, on the other hand, will see a new skipper this season in the form of all-rounder Deepti Sharma.

Mithali Raj, who led Velocity in the last edition, along with some other senior cricketers, Jhulan Goswami, Veda Krishnamurthy and Shikha Pandey, are the notable absentees in the squads announced by the apex Indian board.

When it comes to the overseas player contingent, this season will witness the likes of Australian leg spinner Alana King, England stars Sophie Ecclestone, Sophia Dunkley-Brown and Kate Cross. Similarly, Laura Wolvaardt, Sune Luus, Ayabonga Khaka from South Africa, Deandra Dottin, Hayley Matthews from West Indies, Salma Khatun, Sharmin Akter from Bangladesh and Natthakan Chantham from Thailand are the other overseas cricketers in the three-team competition.

Here are the complete squads

Women's T20 Challenge 2022 squad.
Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 squad.

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Taniya Bhatia (vice-captain), Alana King, Ayushi Soni, Chandu V, Deandra Dottin, Harleen Deol, Meghna Singh, Monica Patel, Muskan Malik, Pooja Vastrakar, Priya Punia, Rashi Kanojia, Sophie Ecclestone, Suné Luus, Mansi Joshi

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (captain), Poonam Yadav (vice-captain), Arundhati Reddy, Hayley Matthews, Jemimah Rodrigues, Priyanka Priyadarshini, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Renuka Singh, Richa Ghosh, S Meghana Saiqa Ishaque, Salma Khatun, Sharmin Akhter, Sophia Dunkley, Sujata Mallik, Shradda Pokharkar

Velocity: Deepti Sharma (captain), Sneh Rana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Ayabonga Khaka, Kiran Navgire, Kate Cross, Keerthi James, Laura Wolvaardt, Maya Sonawane, Natthakan Chantham, Radha Yadav, Aarti Kedar, Shivali Shinde, Simran Bahadur, Yastika Bhatia, Pranavi Chandra

Here are the Fixtures

All games will be played at MCA Stadium, Pune

  • May 23 – Trailblazers vs Supernovas
  • May 24 – Supernovas vs Velocity
  • May 26 – Velocity vs Trailblazers
  • May 28 – Final

Follow us on Google News to Read more News

Previous articleFree Fire Max Advance Server OB34 APK Download Link: Activation Codes, Expiry Dates & More
Next articleKamlesh Jain may become the new head physio of the Indian cricket team